Florida’s new homeowner’s insurance law provides significant consumer protections for Floridians, including new provisions for homeowners, mobile homeowners and condominium policies.
New mandates are as follows:
- Citizens Property Insurance Co. – the state-run insurer of last resort – has been required to improve its customer response and service
- Insurance companies must give homeowners’ policyholders 180 days notice before dropping their policies
- Insurance companies must spell out how much a hurricane deductible could potentially cost a policyholder and disclose all available discounts. Legislation has limited hurricane deductibles to one per season
- Insurers are required to pay the undisputed claims within 90 days of deciding the amount of the undisputed payment
- Insurers are to develop standard, apples-to-apples policies to be easily shopped and compared from company to company
- Insurers must pay the full replacement cost up front, not just the lower actual cash value for repairs and contents
- Insurers must provide funding for more staff to review rate decisions made by Florida’s Office of Insurance Regulation
- Public hearings are required for requested rate hikes exceeding 15 percent
- The insurance agent must fill out a mandatory policy checklist detailing what a policy covers and does not cover
For additional hurricane-related insurance resources, please visit our hurricane information resource page.
Be advised that despite these new protections and laws, your insurance company may still be treating you unfairly. You do not have to deal with uncooperative insurance companies by yourself. We are here to help. Please contact us today, and we will gladly set up a free consultation for you. Se habla español.
Suite 830 Top Floor
Orlando, FL 32801